Image 78

Orchestra concert 1 | The heavenly life

Chamber music plus weeks

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata "Ich habe genug" BWV 82              
Guillaume Lekeu:
Adagio pour Quatuor d'Orchestre (1891)


Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 4 in G major
Arrangement for chamber ensemble and soprano by Erwin Stein (1885–1958)

Duration approx. 120 minutes, incl. interval

Johann Sebastian Bach, Guillaume Lekeu and Gustav Mahler wrote music that offers three very different perspectives on parting from the earth. The peaceful mood of Bach's most famous cantata is rooted in the promise of eternal peace in heaven – and inspired Bach to compose what is probably the most beautiful lullaby in the world: the aria "Schlummert ein".

Lekeu dedicates the "Adagio" to his recently deceased teacher César Franck, and Mahler has a cryptical but cheerful attitude towards the human idea of heavenly life.

Thomas Oliemans, baritone | Olivier Stankiewicz, oboe | Festival orchestra (direction: Daniel Bard, violin)

Booklet Chamber Music Plus 2023

Listen to the introduction podcast

Read more about Chamber Music Plus 2023

Watch Videos of past concerts

Listen to the Playlist 'Chamber Music Plus 2023' on Spotify

Concert introduction with Rolf Grolimund

1 hour before the concert | Tellenhaus Ernen (in German).

Add to agenda

Entrance fees

  • Price adults CHF 55.00
  • Price reduced CHF 25.00
  • Price Member TCS CHF 50.00
  • Price Kultur-GA CHF 0.00
Reduced price applies for children (under 18) and students (under 26). More information.


Members of the Musikdorf Ernen association receive savings on the season tickets compared to single tickets. More information.
Subscriptions Chamber music plus
  • Non-member CHF 380.00
  • Member CHF 340.00
  • Price teenager / student CHF 170.00
  • Price Member TCS CHF 340.00
  • Price Kultur-GA CHF 0.00
Buy subscription Become a member
Share this event:
04. August 2023 20 o' clock Kirche St. Georg Ernen Adults CHF 55.00.–