Image 78

Orchestra concert 1

Young Apollo

Part of «Chamber Music Plus»

Benjamin Britten: «Young Apollo» for Piano, String Quartet and String Orchestra op. 16    
Edvard Grieg: 
«From Holberg's Time» Suite in the Olden Style for String Orchestra op. 40
Christian Mason: «Tuvan Songbook» for (singing) String Quartet (2016)
Version for String Orchestra (2020)


Aulis Sallinen: «Sunrise Serenade» for Chamber Orchestra op. 63
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Symphony for String Orchestra B minor MWV N 10
Nikos Skalkottas: Five Greek Dances for String Orchestra AK 11b

Duration approx. 110 minutes, incl. interval

Read more about Christian Mason, Composer in Residence 2023/24

Watch a short video interview with Christian Mason

Read more about Chamber Music Plus 2024

Watch Videos of past concerts

Festival Orchestra
Concertmaster: Daniel Bard
Piano: Joonas Ahonen (Britten), Paolo Giacometti (Sallinen)
Trompete: Lennard Czakaj (Sallinen)

Concert introduction with Rolf Grolimund

1 hour before the concert | Tellenhaus Ernen (in German).

Add to agenda

Entrance fees

  • Price adults CHF 55.00
  • Price reduced CHF 25.00
  • Price Member TCS CHF 50.00
  • Price Kultur-GA CHF 0.00
Reduced price applies for children (under 18) and students (under 26). More information.


Members of the Musikdorf Ernen association receive savings on the season tickets compared to single tickets. More information.
Subscription Chamber music plus
  • Non-member CHF 425.00
  • Member CHF 380.00
  • Price teenager / student CHF 190.00
  • Price Member TCS CHF 380.00
  • Price Kultur-GA CHF 0.00
Buy subscription Become a member
Share this event:
02. August 2024 20 o' clock Kirche St. Georg Ernen Adults CHF 55.00.–